• Click here for the Program Description and Guidelines for
    English as a Second Language

    CAN DO Descriptors


    The five grade level cluster CAN DO Descriptors- PreK-K, 1-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12- are examples of expectations of English language learners for each of the four language domains—listening, speaking, reading, and writing—and five levels of English language proficiency—Entering, Beginning, Developing, Expanding, and Bridging. The CAN DO Descriptors are a collective representation of WIDA’s five English language proficiency standards—social and instructional language, the language of language arts, the language of mathematics, the language of science, and the language of social studies. The Descriptors are a standards-based resource tool.

    Grades 1-2 CAN DO Descriptors  
    Grades 3-5 CAN DO Descriptors
    Grades 6-8 CAN DO Descriptors                               

    Grades 9-12 CAN DO Descriptors